MINUTES OF THE MAY 20, 2024 REGULAR MEETING OF THE SOUTH HOLAND PUBLIC LIBRARY BOARD OF TRUSTEES

1) CALL TO ORDER

President Vanessa Bradley called to order at 6:00 pm.

2) ROLL CALL

Present: President Vanessa Bradley, Secretary Elaine MacKenzie, Trustee Sonya Harrington, Trustee Janice Newman, Trustee Angela Oldenkamp, Director Christyn Rayford, Assistant Director Amilcar Perez.

Absent: Vice-President Felicia Houston, Treasurer Patricia McCreary Cannon arrived at 6:10 PM

3) INTRODUCTION OF GUESTS - None

4) PUBLIC COMMENTS - None

Members of the Public are invited to speak to the Board. Speakers are allowed three (3) minutes to address the Board. Individuals will not be allowed to speak a second time until all speakers who wish to address the Board have been recognized.

5) CORRESPONDENCE - None

6) APPROVAL OF MINUTES

a. Trustee Angela Oldenkamp moved to approve the minutes of the April 22, 2024 Regular Meeting of the South Holland Public Library Board of Trustees. Secretary Elaine MacKenzie seconded the motion.

Roll Call:

Ayes: President Vanessa Bradley, Secretary Elaine MacKenzie, Trustee Sonya Harrington, Trustee Janice Newman, Trustee Angela Oldenkamp. Nays: None Absent: Vice-President Felicia Houston, Treasurer Patricia McCreary Cannon arrived at 6:10 PM Motion carried

7) APPROVAL OF BILLS

a. Secretary Elaine MacKenzie moved to approve the final April bills for FY2023-2024, submitted for payment in the amount of \$ 95,296.41. Trustee Janice Newman seconded the motion.

Roll Call: Ayes: President Vanessa Bradley, Secretary Elaine MacKenzie, Trustee Sonya Harrington, Trustee Janice Newman, Trustee Angela Oldenkamp. Nays: None Absent: Vice-President Felicia Houston, Treasurer Patricia McCreary Cannon arrived at 6:10 PM Motion carried

*Attachment included in Board packet. For further information, please contact: Christyn Rayford, Library Director; South Holland Public Library, 16250 Wausau Avenue, South Holland, IL 60473; 708-527-3104 or <u>christyn@shlibrary.org</u>. Any individual requiring special accommodations as specified by the Americans with Disabilities Act is requested to notify the Library Director at least 24 hours in advance of the meeting date.

b. Trustee Sonya Harrington moved to approve the May 20, 2024 bills submitted for payment in the amount of \$ 14,195.57. *Trustee Janice Newman seconded the motion.*

Roll Call:

Ayes: President Vanessa Bradley, Secretary Elaine MacKenzie, Trustee Sonya Harrington, Trustee Janice Newman, Trustee Angela Oldenkamp. Nays: None Absent: Vice-President Felicia Houston, Treasurer Patricia McCreary Cannon arrived at 6:10 PM Motion carried

8) FINANCIAL REPORTS

- a. Trustee Angela Oldenkamp moved to approve the Revenue & Expenditure Reports for FY2023-2024. Trustee Sonya Harrington seconded the motion. Roll Call: Ayes: President Vanessa Bradley, Treasurer Patricia McCreary Cannon, Secretary Elaine MacKenzie, Trustee Sonya Harrington, Trustee Janice Newman, Trustee Angela Oldenkamp. Nays: None Absent: Vice-President Felicia Houston. Motion carried
- b. Trustee Sonya Harrington moved to approve the Revenue & Expenditure Reports Yearto-Date for May 2024. Treasurer Patricia McCreary Cannon seconded the motion. Roll Call: Ayes: President Vanessa Bradley, Treasurer Patricia McCreary Cannon, Secretary Elaine

Ayes: President Vanessa Bradley, Treasurer Patricia McCreary Cannon, Secretary Elaine MacKenzie, Trustee Sonya Harrington, Trustee Janice Newman, Trustee Angela Oldenkamp. Nays: None

Absent: Vice-President Felicia Houston. Motion carried

c. Review Village Financials for FY2023-2024.

9) COMMITTEE REPORTS

- a. Building & Grounds None
- b. Finance None

10) UNFINISHED BUSINESS

11) NEW BUSINESS

a. Trustee Janice Newman moved to approve changes to 6.0 Meeting Room and Study Room policy, as discussed. Trustee Angela Oldenkamp seconded the motion.

Roll Call: Ayes: President Vanessa Bradley, Treasurer Patricia McCreary Cannon, Secretary Elaine MacKenzie, Trustee Sonya Harrington, Trustee Janice Newman, Trustee Angela Oldenkamp. Nays: None Absent: Vice-President Felicia Houston. Motion carried

^{*}Attachment included in Board packet. For further information, please contact: Christyn Rayford, Library Director; South Holland Public Library, 16250 Wausau Avenue, South Holland, IL 60473; 708-527-3104 or <u>christyn@shlibrary.org</u>. Any individual requiring special accommodations as specified by the Americans with Disabilities Act is requested to notify the Library Director at least 24 hours in advance of the meeting date.

b. Trustee Janice Newman moved to approve Strategic Plan Goals for FY2024 -2026, as discussed. Secretary Elaine MacKenzie seconded the motion.

Roll Call:

Ayes: President Vanessa Bradley, Treasurer Patricia McCreary Cannon, Secretary Elaine MacKenzie, Trustee Sonya Harrington, Trustee Janice Newman, Trustee Angela Oldenkamp. Nays: None Absent: Vice-President Felicia Houston. Motion carried

12) LIBRARY DIRECTOR'S REPORT

- a. Director Rayford informed that all staff evaluations have been completed.
- b. She informed that the public announcement system has been installed and training will begin soon and that the Quality Alarm Fire Safety updates required by the Village of South Holland are near completion.
- c. She mentioned that we are almost finished creating an employment checklist to aid our new employee training and retention goals.
- d. She informed that staff attended the Reaching Forward North Conference on May 10 participating in sessions and learning more about interdepartmental cross training, building a library of things collection, virtual reality in the library and more.
- e. She announced that Alex Nieto received the Robert Doyle award.
- f. She informed that we are finalizing Summer Reading promotions and the newsletter.

13) ANNOUNCEMENTS

The next regular meeting of the South Holland Library Board of Trustees is June 24, 2024 at 6:00 p.m.

14) ADJOURMENT

Secretary MacKenzie moved the Board to adjourn the meeting at 6:47 pm. The motion was carried unanimously.

Elaine MacKenize, Secretary

Date

*Attachment included in Board packet. For further information, please contact: Christyn Rayford, Library Director; South Holland Public Library, 16250 Wausau Avenue, South Holland, IL 60473; 708-527-3104 or <u>christyn@shlibrary.org</u>. Any individual requiring special accommodations as specified by the Americans with Disabilities Act is requested to notify the Library Director at least 24 hours in advance of the meeting date.