Databases

Auto Repair Source

Offers a wealth of information to help you diagnose, repair, and maintain cars and vehicles. Includes service and repair procedures, diagrams, recall information, specifications, labor estimates, and parts pricing.

Small Engine Repair Source

This reference database provides detailed, user-friendly repair guides for all manner of small engines, from motorcycles and ATVs to generators and outdoor power equipment.

Hobbies and Crafts Source

How-tos and creative ideas in arts and crafts, collecting, home and garden, indoor recreation, kids’ crafts, model building, needlecrafts and textiles, outdoor recreation, performing arts, science and technology, and scrapbooking and papercrafts.

Home Imporovement Source

Through a collection of comprehensive full-text content, this database provides detailed, user-friendly “how-to” information covering a variety of do-it-yourself home improvement and repair projects.

Biblioboard

BiblioBoard, in partnership with your library, is devoted to providing your community with powerful tools to Create, Share, and Discover local content.

Comics Plus - Children's Library

For fans of graphic novels, comic books, and manga! Thousands of titles available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week for offline reading, with unlimited, simultaneous checkout.

Comics Plus - Full Collection

For fans of graphic novels, comic books, and manga! Thousands of titles available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week for offline reading, with unlimited, simultaneous checkout.

Comics Plus - Teen Library

For fans of graphic novels, comic books, and manga! Thousands of titles available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week for offline reading, with unlimited, simultaneous checkout.

Gale Virtual Reference Library

An award-winning, hassle-free eBook experience—anytime, anywhere, and on any device. Gale’s eBook platform provides comprehensive support from many of today’s top publishers.

Hoopla

Borrow and enjoy audiobooks, eBooks, comics, movies, TV, magazines, or music everywhere you have a screen-your computer, your phone, your car, even your TV. All you need is a library card. hoopla syncs across all your devices, so you can stream titles immediately or whenever you're in the mood.

Media On Demand (OverDrive)

Overdrive is filled with over 20,000 unique titles. eBooks and eAudiobooks are available in a variety of formats to work with the most popular devices.

Novelist

Book reviews, recommendations, and read-alikes for your favorite titles and authors.

Novelist K-8

Find good reads for kids by searching by age, subject, plot summary, and more.

NoveList K-8 Plus

Find good reads for kids by searching by age, subject, plot summary, and more.

NoveList Plus

Book reviews, recommendations, and read-alikes for your favorite titles and authors.

Online Book Clubs

Join the Library's Online Book Clubs and start receiving chapters from popular books in your daily email. Every day, Monday through Friday, we'll send you a portion of a book that takes only five minutes to read.

Project Gutenberg

A library of over 70,000 free eBooks. Choose among free ePub and Kindle eBooks, download them or read them online. You will find the world’s great literature here, with focus on older works for which U.S. copyright has expired.

Driver Education Practice Tests

To drive in Illinois you need your driver’s license or motorcycle classification. The first step is to pass a knowledge test. Whichever knowledge tests you need to pass, we’ve prepared a variety of practice tests to take and the official handbooks to study. The questions resemble those on the official knowledge tests.

Duolingo – Learn other Languages

Learn 40+ languages through quick, bite-sized lessons. Practice speaking, reading, listening, and writing to build your vocabulary and grammar skills. Duolingo helps you prepare for real conversations in Spanish, French, Chinese, Italian, German, English, and more.

eRead Illinois

Aa cooperative program that expands access to e-books for Illinois residents.

ERIC: Education Resources Information Center

Authoritative database of indexed and full-text education literature and resources. Sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences of the U.S. Department of Education, it is an essential tool for education researchers of all kinds. 

GCF Learn Free

Browse this extensive library and learn the essential skills they need to live and work in the 21st century.

HelpNow! Homework Help from Brainfuse

Homework Help, Skills-Building, Personalized eLearning Tools, 24-Hour Writing Lab, Homework Questions, and Foreign Language Lab / Spanish-Speaking Support.

LearningExpress Library

LearningExpress Library is an easy-to-use online test prep resource that helps people improve their core academic skills, earn a high school equivalency, prepare for college, join the military, obtain occupational certification, change careers, become a U.S. citizen and much more.

Middle Search Plus

Resources to support middle school students, including biographies, magazines, primary source documents, photos, maps, and flags. Includes Sports Illustrated Kids, Scholastic News, National Geographic and dozens more. Articles include reading level indicators (Lexile).

Professional Development Collection

A highly specialized database of full-text electronic information especially for educators, professional librarians and education researchers, and includes full text for high-quality education journals and reports.

Religion & Philosophy Collection

An essential full-text database for theology and philosophy research. It includes hundreds of full-text journals and magazines covering many religious and philosophical topics, including world religions, religious history, political philosophy and philosophy of language.

Biography Reference Center

Provides thousands of unique and reliable full-text biographies, including the complete full text of Biography and Biography Today. In addition to keyword search, users can locate biographies by subject occupation, activity, nationality, gender, birthplace and more.

Alt HealthWatch

Full-text alternative health research database focused on complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. It offers the latest information about the evolving practice of holistic medicine and therapies. 

Assisted Living Research Institute

Consumer Health Complete

Full-text articles to support research in aging, cancer, diabetes, drugs and alcohol, fitness, and nutrition. Includes teen health topics for teens and parents.

MEDLINE

Created by the United States National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE is an authoritative bibliographic database containing citations and abstracts for biomedical and health journals used by health care professionals, nurses, clinicians and researchers.

Medline Plus

Oonline health information resource for patients and their families and friends. It is a service of the National Library of Medicine (NLM), the world's largest medical library, which is part of the National Institutes of Health (NIH).

AtoZdatabases

AtoZdatabases is the Premier Job Search, Reference & Mailing List Database including 65 million business & executive profiles & 240 million residents. Ideal for sales leads, mailing lists, market research, employment opportunities, finding friends and relatives, and much more!

Got Resume Builder

Build a resume online in minutes with the free resume builder.

Vocational and Career Collection

Designed to meet a wide variety of vocational and technical research needs, this database provides full-text coverage for trade and industry-related periodicals for high schools, community colleges, trade institutions and the general public.

Newspaper Source Plus

A full-text digital collection of the world's major news content. It includes millions of articles from newspapers and newswires and offers television and radio transcripts and ongoing daily updates from popular news sources.

Regional Business News

Full-text regional business publications for the United States and Canadian provinces. Users can search newspapers, magazines and other resources from trusted news sources. 

Academic Search Elite

Full-text articles to support research in science, engineering, physics, technology, religion, and philosophy. Includes access to video from the Associated Press (AP).

Adult Learning Center from Brainfuse

 Job assistance, U.S. Citizenship Test preparation, and a unique academic skills building center with tutoring sessions from trained adult education instructors.

AtoZdatabases

AtoZdatabases is the Premier Job Search, Reference & Mailing List Database including 65 million business & executive profiles & 240 million residents. Ideal for sales leads, mailing lists, market research, employment opportunities, finding friends and relatives, and much more!

Digital Public Library of America

The Digital Public Library of America empowers people to learn, grow, and contribute to a diverse and better-functioning society by maximizing access to our shared history, culture, and knowledge.

EBSCOhost – All Databases

Access point to all EBSCOhost databases. Links to specialized groupings of databases by subject, i.e. Business or Health databases. Direct access interfaces for each database.

Ethnic Diversity Source

This full-text database is a dedicated resource covering the culture, traditions, social treatment and lived experiences of different ethnic groups in America. It provides full text from a growing list of sources including peer-reviewed journals, magazines, newspapers, e-books, biographies and primary source documents. 

Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia

Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia database indexes over 25,000 records, covering an array of topics. Full text for each record may be easily accessed by double clicking on the topic from the display. The database contains images, offers brief biographies as well as information in a variety of subject areas.

History Reference Source

Full-text articles to support research in history and genealogy and lesson plans to support student learning.

Literary Reference Source

Novels, short stories, poems, plot summaries and synopses, and literary criticism. Research guides, lesson plans, and citation tools support student learning.

MasterFILE Complete

Tthe highest quality collection of popular full-text magazines, reference books, videos and other sources covering virtually every subject area. Helping patrons find relevant content has never been easier. Multidisciplinary database provides full text for nearly 1,700 periodicals dating as far back as 1975.

Points of View Reference Center

Resources for students to understand issues, develop criticial thinking skills, and develop persuasive arguments. Includes essays, overviews, articles, and transcripts on, citizens’ rights, earth and environmental issues, global issues, health and medicine, and media and communications.

Points of View Reference Source

Resources for students to understand issues, develop criticial thinking skills, and develop persuasive arguments. Includes essays, overviews, articles, and transcripts on, citizens’ rights, earth and environmental issues, global issues, health and medicine, and media and communications.

Primary Search

Resources to support elementary school students, including encyclopedias specifically for kids, articles from children’s magazines including Highlights and Junior Scholastic, and a large image collection.

Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection

An essential full-text database for psychologists, counselors, researchers and students. It provides hundreds of full-text psychology journals, including many indexed in APA PsycInfo. It offers particularly strong coverage in child and adolescent psychology and counseling.

Science Reference Source

Full-text articles to support research in applied sciences, biology, chemistry, earth and space science, and energy. Includes the Science Image Collection, a database of high-quality science images from National Geographic, UPI, Getty, NASA, and Nature Picture Library.

AGRICOLA

AGRICOLA provides millions of citations relating to the field of agriculture. Citations are comprised of journal articles, book chapters, theses, patents, software, audiovisual materials and technical reports to support agricultural research.